Wk 4 – Art Activity – Automatic Drawing

img_0644fullsizerenderfullsizerender

So for this weeks art activity which was automatic drawing, I asked a close friend Anthony to be my partner. I didn’t explain exactly what we would be doing, but he assumed he would have to draw something for me. Little did he know, he was half right. I explained how we’d be sitting face to face on the floor, eyes closed, and with both hands on the pencil while we basically just breathe. He was a little hesitant about it, but he agreed to try it out. Anyway, we were on the floor having a couple beers and Hot Cheetos while I played Johnny Cash on my laptop. We just sat there with eyes closed, sometimes peeking as we let the pencil and the movement of our hands draw a bunch of random lines and shapes, but we weren’t getting much on paper just by our breathing and involuntary movement causing the pencil to slide across the paper. Then song “Ring of Fire” came on, and we both started to wiggle a little as our way of basically saying “this is my jam.” We were getting a lot more movement by our dancing so we wiggled in place and sang to the entire song. It was hilarious and really fun. When I figured I had enough content on paper, I took the board I glued my paper on and held it out in front of me to look at it from a different perspective, and I literally had no idea what I was going to do to make it not just a bunch of scribbling. Next thing you know, I was like, “Oh my god. I’m gonna find Johnny Cash’s name in this and that’ll be it. Thanks to him.” So what I was going to do was find the letters of Johnny’s name in the scribbles and trace over each with a black pastel as a way to highlight. It took me about 10 minutes to find each letter–ones that looked the most like the actual letter. I then decided to color in random shapes and empty spots in and around the entire ball of scribble with the two other pastel colors I got in my art kit which were a lime green and yellow. So basically my pictures show the end result. I was pretty proud of myself for the idea since I’ve always been convinced that I had zero sense of creativity. Anthony, being the hard critic that he is, mentioned how he actually thought it was a cool idea. Dedicated to Johnny Cash.

Leave a Reply

